WTC Final 2023: With the victory of the first test.. Team India reached the final of the WTC.. Here are the complete calculations..

Team India

India’s innings won by 132 runs in the first Test match against Australia as part of the Border Gavaskar Trophy. With this victory, the Indian team reached the final of the World Test Championship (WTC). However, Australia continues to top the WTC points table. India is currently ranked second. Now let’s see the ways ahead of Team India to reach the WTC final and also to be at the top.

If there is another success..

Australia is number one in the WTC points table. India is second, Sri Lanka is third and South Africa is fourth. South Africa have two more matches against West Indies at home.

If the African team wins both these matches, it will get 55.55% points. On the other hand, in the current series against Australia, if the Indian team wins two Test matches and loses the remaining two matches, it will have 56.94% points. That means, as soon as 1 more win in this series, Indian team will be ahead of South Africa.

Sri Lanka to play two Tests against New Zealand

Currently third in the points table, the Sri Lankan team has to play two Test matches against New Zealand. If the Sri Lankan team does not win both the Tests, the Indian team will reach the final even if they win both the Tests against Australia. But if Sri Lanka cleansweep, it will have 61.11% points. In this situation, India will have to win three of the four Tests against Australia.

However, it is very difficult for Sri Lanka to win both the Tests in New Zealand. Even if the Sri Lankan team loses one test or draws one match there, India will secure a place in the finals only by winning two tests against Australia.

Australia is sure to play the final..

Australia is sure to play the WTC final. Even if they lose all the four matches in the series, it seems certain to join the top-2.

WTC final match at Oval..

The final match of the World Test Championship will be held at the Oval Cricket Ground in London from June 7 to 11. The ICC, which announced the dates on Wednesday, also said that there is a reserve day for the match. June 12 will be the reserve day. This is the second season of the World Test Championship. In the first season, under the captaincy of Kane Williamson, the New Zealand team became the champion. The Kiwis team won against India by 8 wickets in the final held at Southampton.

Chance of Team India becoming number 1 in all three formats..

The Indian team is now very close to being number-1 in all three formats of cricket. Currently, Team India is number 1 in ODIs and T20Is and is second in Tests. If the Indian team wins the series by 2-0 or more, they will be number 1 in Tests as well.

Click here for more sports news..

Leave a Comment