AUS vs IRE: Australia became number 2 with victory over Ireland.. Those 3 teams from Group 1 in the semi-finals..

Aus Vs Ireland

Australia defeated Ireland by 42 runs in Super-12 stage of T20 World Cup. Ireland captain Andrew Balbirnie elected to field first after winning the toss in Brisbane. At the end of 20 overs, Australia scored 179 runs for the loss of 5 wickets. Set a target of 180 runs, Ireland were bowled out for 137 runs in 18.1 overs. Ireland’s Lorcan Tucker remained unbeaten on 71 runs. After the first wicket fell in the second over, Tucker stayed till the end but could not win the team. No other batsman in the team could stand up to the Australian bowlers. With this victory, Australia has moved up to the second position in Group 1 of the T20 World Cup 2022 with 5 points. New Zealand topped Group 1.

5 wickets for 25 runs..

Half of Ireland’s team reached the pavilion for 25 runs. But middle-order batsman Lorcan Tucker batted till the end to give Ireland hope of victory. He scored 71 runs and was not out. But, due to lack of support from the other end, he could not lead the team to victory. Apart from him, no other Irish batsman could score more than 15 runs.

Glenn Maxwell, Adam Zampa, Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc took 2 wickets each in Australia’s bowling. At the same time, Marcus Stoinis got a wicket. The last batsman of the team was run out.

Lorcan Tucker scored 71 runs for Ireland, Gareth Delaney scored 14 runs, Mark Adair scored 11 runs and Paul Stirling scored 11 runs. No other batsman in the team could reach double figures.

Finch, Marsh, Stoinis hit by Danchi..

Earlier, captain Aaron Finch scored 63 runs off 44 balls for Australia. He received the player of the match award for his innings. Marcus Stoinis scored 35 off 25 balls and Mitchell Marsh scored 28 runs. Barry McCarthy took 3 wickets for 29 runs and Joshua Little took 2 wickets for 21 runs for Ireland.

Both teams playing 11..

Australia: Aaron Finch (captain), David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Matthew Wade (keeper), Pat Cummins, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood.

Ireland: Paul Stirling, Andrew Balbirnie (captain), Lorcan Tucker (keeper), Harry Tector, Curtis Confer, George Dockrell, Gareth Delaney, Mark Adair, Finn Hand, Barry McCarthy, Joshua Little.

Leave a Comment